Flyfishing in Netherlands

Started by Mofly, August 28, 2017, 11:43:02

Previous topic - Next topic

Mofly

Hello at all.

I hope it's ok that i write in English. Unfortunately i don't speak dutch. I am Mo and I am from Bocholt in Germany. I am up to buy the Vispass because I would like to go flyfishing in the Netherlands. Now I am looking for interesting places may be not so far away from my hometown. Can somebody tell me some goog places to go fishing. Or may be is somebody interested to invite me and show me some of them. So if you like we can go fishing together. I must tell you also that I am still a beginner in flyfishing. So I look forward to hear from you. Thank you for your reply.

Kind regards

Mo

Floor

First of all, welcome.
Second; what kind of fish or fishing are you aiming for? Coastal fishing, pike fishing, roach or bass? There is so much nice water to choose from that you probably have to narrow your search at least a little.
It's 106 miles to Chicago, we got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, it's dark... and we're wearing sunglasses...Hit it.

Mofly

Hello Floor. Thanks for your reply. You are right. So I would like to fish in sweat water. For pike and so on i don't have the right equipment at all. My rod is a 5/6 class with a line of class 5. The kind of fish is not so important at the moment. It can be Trout. Bass. Barben. Döbel. Brassen and so on. Sorry I don't know all the names in English.

Regards

Scaramouche

Quote from: Mofly on August 28, 2017, 12:53:08
Trout. Bass. Barben. Döbel. Brassen

= forel. baars. barbeel. kopvoorn. brasem.

baars and brasem will not be too difficult. The other species you mention are rare in our country, you will have a much better chance at those in Germany.

To start with I would target baars, take some small streamers and just try out the waters you can find; they will almost always be there. Don't stick to one place too long.